About Sustainable Hackney

Sustainable Hackney's mission is to support local environmental organisations, co-ordinate activities and bring far greater urgency to addressing climate change and protecting our local environment.

Our work:

Sustainable Hackney has developed the Greenprint for Hackney which sets out our vision of a sustainable future for our borough.  

Our workstreams support the Greenprint and are lead by members of our steering group. We have helped set up Hackney Green Drinks, Hackney Fixers and Hackney Food Partnership and we support a number of other projects through the active involvement of our steering group including EcoActive, Hackney EnergyDivest Hackney

Many of our members represent other organisations and our website, Twitter feed and Facebook page help to network local groups and keep people informed of our work.

We provide webpages for Hackney Marsh User Group.

Our aim:
To work to protect and enhance the environment and create a sustainable community and to contribute to social, economic and environmental justice locally and globally.

Our objectives:
  • To bring together, support and co-ordinate the activities of people and organisations in the London Borough of Hackney to create positive solutions.
  • To promote increased awareness and develop understanding of environmental issues and the work of environmental organisations.
  • To influence policy and represent views to the local authority and other organisations and to increase co-operation between such organisations and local environmental groups.
  • To undertake projects and/or to support and complement the work of others in support of the aim and objects.
  • To develop the diversity of our organisation.

Our steering group

Michael Calderbank 

James Diamond (Website)

Hannah Eskell

Zoe Garbett

Jan Kuiper

Sandra McLeod

Richard Payne (Chair)

Philip Pearson (Vice-Chair)

Gilbert Smyth (Co-opted)

Clare Taylor

Mireille Tchapi (Secretary)

Reiner Tegtmeyer

Merle White (Treasurer)

Everyone is welcome to come to our monthly meetings Click here for dates.  

Our constitution, policies and reports


Privacy Notice

Data Protection Policy

Equalities Policy

Health and Safety Policy
Safeguarding Policy
Complaints process

Cookies policy

AGM & Annual Report 2012
AGM & Annual Report 2013
AGM & Annual Report 2014

AGM & Annual Report 2015

AGM & Annual Report 2016

AGM & Annual Report 2017

AGM & Annual Report 2018

AGM & Annual Report 2019

AGM & Annual Report 2020

Contact us


Email: info@sustainablehackney.org.uk

Twitter: @SustainHackney

Facebook: @SustainHackney

Mailing list


Click here for information about membership.


© 2020   Created by Sustainable Hackney   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service